"We are the ocean, each one a drop"
Jupiter

“With Jupiter, I wanted to bring together a group of exceptional musicians from the new generation, encountered while working with a large number of ensembles. 

All of the artists invited to take part in the project are brilliant masters of their instruments, and some of them are already renowned soloists.  The great freedom that they have all acquired during their projects, the choices in their explorations and a shared knowledge of music will mean we can perform the various repertoires in question with passion, power and emotion.

Ancient music has experienced a great period of rediscovery, thanks to such pioneers as William Christie, Philippe Herreweghe, or Jordi Savall, with whom I have been fortunate enough to work. It is now our responsibility, as a generation who grew up with this music, to continue bringing it alive, while making it more modern, showing just how accessible it can be, and how much it touches our hearts. 

 

Listening, improvisation and energy, as well as a shared overall vision, will all be key factors. All our past experiences, as well as our group work with Jupiter, will allow us to gain a greater freedom, which will make this music utterly alive and, I hope, touching.”

 

Thomas Dunford - artisctic director

Suscribe to our newsletter

  • Noir Facebook Icône
  • Noir Icône Instagram

Saint-Cloud, France

"We are the ocean, each one a drop"
Jupiter

Au sein de Jupiter, j’ai souhaité réunir un collectif de musiciens exceptionnels de la nouvelle génération, rencontrés au cours de collaborations avec de nombreux ensembles. Chaque artiste invité à rejoindre ce projet est brillant dans la maîtrise de son instrument et certains sont déjà renommés en tant que solistes. La grande liberté que chacun a pu acquérir au fil de ses projets et le choix d’une recherche et d’une compréhension commune de la musique permettront de rendre avec passion, force et émotion les différents répertoires abordés.

La musique ancienne a connu une grande période de redécouverte, grâce à des pionniers tels que William Christie, Philippe Herreweghe, Jordi Savall, avec lesquels j’ai eu la chance de travailler. Il est à présent de notre responsabilité, génération ayant grandi avec cette musique, de continuer à la faire vivre tout en la rendant plus moderne, en montrant à quel point elle peut être accessible et combien elle peut toucher les coeurs.

L’écoute, l’improvisation et l’énergie ainsi qu’une vision globale commune en seront la clef. Toutes nos expériences passées, ainsi que notre travail collectif au sein de Jupiter nous permettront d’acquérir cette grande liberté qui rendra la musique extrêmement vivante et je l’espère, touchante.

 

Thomas Dunford - directeur artistique